There seems to be increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent many people believe that the other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is argued by some that the death penalty is the best solution for fighting the ever-growing rate of crime, mainly due to the fear it can create among criminals, while others disagree. In my opinion, countires should seek for other solutions, as taking life is morally wrong, regardless to the type of crime comitted. On the one hand, some hold the view that the death sentence is the ultimate way to decrease the amount of serious crimes, because it creates fear among criminals. In other words, potential offenders and gangsters would probably think twice before they commit rape or an armed robbery, whilst knowing the penalty for these actions could be death. For example, studies have shown that the rate of homocides has dropped significantly in countries which have embraced the death penalty. On the other hand, others believe that a death sentence is morally wrong, and I agree with this statement. The fact that a court or a judge can decide whether a certain individual will live or die, no matter which crime he or she has committed, is a source for many arguements, and some think that such decisions are fundamentally worng. For instance, a survey from Oxford’s university has shown that the majority of the population in England belive that death penalties should be banned and stated that moral conflicts are the main reason. In conclusion, altough views differ, This essay believes that countries should stop conducting executions of criminals, because this action is wrong from a morall morally prespective, and should find other ways of confronting the latest rise in crime rates.