There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessments?

Nowadays, a growing number of students are being evaluated by exams, rather than with continual assessment. One of the advantages of this trend is the fact that tests can quickly identify the leading students, whilst one of the drawbacks of exams includes the fact it can create stress among certain students. On the one hand, tests are highly effective in identifying the strongest students in a short period of time. This is because exams usually last for no longer than several hours and can be rapidly checked by a computer. For example, in the current time, a large number of companies choose to recruit their employees according to the scores their candidates achieved on specially designed tests. This tool can provide a specific company with the ability of hiring new workers in a tremendously short period of time. On the other hand, exams might generate stress among some students and therfore to wrongly evaulate them. In other words, tests might fail to evaluate a particular part of the students ’ population, whilst in most cases these learners will be the ones with lower levels of confidence and higher levers of anxeity. For instance, studies have shown that a high percentage of students who suffered from elevated stress levels during tests in the university was eventually highly successful scientists. Thus, tests might miss the potential of various learners who cannot cope with stress. In conclusion, in terms of assessment, exams include several benefits, such as rapidly identifying strong students, however, tests have nevertheless few disadvantages, namely the missassessment mass assessment of some students, due to high level of stress.