Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

The minds of the children can be shaped during early years of their age so parents have to be cautious about their behaviour. A handful of people ponder that children should be presented with a reward for showing the best behaviour while others postulate that they should be punished when they misbehave. This essay will discuss both sides of the views in detail; however, i am personally in favour of motivating a child when they behave in good manner with others. On the one hand, proponents of giving reward to a child claim that continuous encouragement will have long term benefits. Children ’s immature minds are not aware of (what’s right and what’s wrong) ethical or moral principles so when they are motivated for a certain action then they get a better understanding about it and they continue to do so thus leading to a good habit. For instance, we often hear that ‘sharing is caring’, this habit can be seen in most of the students in school where they share the meals and stationary items with their classmates. Teachers find this as a small step in the positive behaviour hence appreciate the students for the same. Therefore, any reward in the form of words, patting or a present will always promote optimistic change in a child ’s behaviour and habits. On the other hand, some parents believe that punishing their offspring for misbehaviour will restrict their sons and daughters from repeating such kinds of actions. Most of the children show stubborness and do not listen to their parents hence the only option left for a mother or father is to show strictness for the betterment of the child. For example, a recent study by Children Welfare Council in USA shows that 30% of the teenagers use abusive language and bully others as their actions were ignored by their parents during the young age. This has detrimental effect to the society as some of them may choose path of various crimes due to the teenage rage and anger. Therefore, it is paramount to teach and guide the child at the early age even if it requires to punish or ground them. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I would like to infer that if a child is closely monitored during the younger age when they develop habits by encouraging and rewarding them for positive actions like respecting and helping others then it will never lead to bad outcomes in future. Methods like punishment should only be considered if all the other ways to improve their behavior fails.