. Some people believe that government, should spend on new public buildings, such os libraries and museums, rather than renovating old buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Our public buildings -- museums, post offices, town halls, libraries, schools - are a reflection of who we are as a community, and as a people. The given statement says that the authorities should invest on constructing new public buildings, instead of revamping the old ones. I vehemently disagree with this perspective. A number of arguments surround my opinion. Proponents of the given statement say that it is more simple, beneficial and cheaper to build new buildings instead of preserving the old ones. They opine that the old, withered and worn out, buildings should be demolished, and shiny new ones made instead. They argue that replacing the old with the new is part of progress. However, they are forgetting the benefits of keeping our heritage intact. First of all, preservation and restoration plays a cultural role. Old buildings teach us about the history that happened before we were born, and promote the respect for those who lived in different times and different societies. Architectural monuments cultivate pride of our past and heritage, making us unique in the world. For example, Kapurthala is known for a string of beautiful buildings, which were made by the then Maharaja Jagatjit Singh, during the pre partition days. These buildings, are now the pride of the people there. Historical structures bring character and certain charm to the neighborhood that people live in. Secondly, economy is an important merit of keeping the old. Architectural monuments are great attractors of tourists. Everyone likes to experience the "spirit" of the place, which most often is represented through architecture. To cite an example, the Salarjung Museum in Hyderabad Telangana, was once the residence of the Salar Jung family, who served as Prime Ministers to the Nizams, who were the erstwhile rulers of Hyderabad. lt has the biggest collection of antiques from all over the world, and thousands of tourists visit this museum everyday. Tourists provide locals with jobs and extra income. Restoration works also contribute to boosting the economy. Finally, restoring old buildings is environmentally friendly. Building new green buildings and energy-saving houses is important, but restoring the old ones is as "green" as it can get. Preservation and restoration is the ultimate form of recycling. lt helps reduce construction waste, and saves the energy that is usually spent on manufacturing and transporting building materials and tools. To sum up, although building new buildlngs building may be cheaper and simpler than restoring old ones, I firmly believe that old is gold, and should be preserved.