Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Safe driving is essential to reduce the number of road accidents. There are some people consider punishing the offender would be an effective method to tackle this issue, the opponents think that implementing other measures could be eliminated the problem significantly. In my opinion, I, personally, support the former’s view since the punishment refraies refrain people from committing wrong doing in their life time. On one hand, when a culprit is sentenced or fined for violating traffic rules or speed driving would allow him to repent his mistakes while serving a jail term. The price of a small negligence may cost the life of a person, so stringent law enforcement is must. For example, driving bicycle without wearing a helmet is a punishable offence in India. Even though giving multiple warnings, the most of the offenders tend to repeat the mistakes over again and again. Therefore, it has been noted that by administering stricter rules and punishments would minimise such cases from occurring. The opponents of the above the statement advocate that by enforcing other tactics would decrease traffic violations. They tend to believe that lack of awareness of traffic rules and safety measures are the real causative factors of the violation. For this, providing free education and conducting skill updating classes to drivers on a regular basis can be introduced. However, not only are these methods rarely successful, but this also requires a huge funding and people may not value the significance. For instance, implementing these kinds of educations surely require experts and modern teaching facilities, which may not be feasible most of the time. In conclusion, people have a different opinion on whether giving punishments or implementing some other methods would reduce the offenders. I, firmly, think that stringent punishment would eliminate the problem effectively.