Some people are of the opinion that children should be rewarded for good behaviour. Others think they should be punished for bad behaviour. Discuss both views and give your personal opinion and reasons.

The minds of the children can be shaped during the early years of their life so caregivers have to be cautious about their behaviour. A few people ponder that offspring should be presented with a reward for showing the best behaviour while others postulate that they should be punished when they misbehave. This essay will discuss both standpoints and provide evidence as to why I strongly advocate in favour of motivating a child when they behave in a good manner with everyone. On the one hand, proponents of giving reward to a child claim that continuous encouragement will have long term benefits. Children’s immature minds are not aware of ethical or moral principles so when they are motivated for a certain action then they get a better understanding about it and they continue to do so thus leading to a good habit. For instance, we often hear that “sharing is caring”, this habit can be seen in most of the students in school where they share the meals and stationery items with their classmates. Teachers find this as a small step in the positive behaviour hence appreciate the students for the same. Therefore, any reward in the form of words, patting or a present will always promote optimistic change in a child ’s habits. On the contrary, some parents believe that punishing their offspring for misbehaviour will restrict their sons and daughters from repeating such kinds of actions. Most of the children show stubbornness and do not listen to their parents so the only option left for a mother or father is to show strictness for the betterment of the child. For example, a recent study by Children Welfare Council in the USA shows that 30% of teenagers use abusive language and bully others as their actions were ignored by their parents during a young age. This has a detrimental effect on society as some of them may choose the path of various crimes due to teenage rage and anger. As a result, it is paramount to teach and guide the child during the initial years even if it requires to punish or ground them. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I would like to infer that if a child is closely monitored during the younger age when they develop habits by encouraging and rewarding them for positive actions like respecting and helping others then it will never lead to bad outcomes in future. Methods like punishment should only be considered if all the other ways to improve their behaviour fails.