Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is ? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Nowadays, mostly people are in hurry up. In the past 3 decades the owner of the cars are rising speedily and number of cities are facing traffic jam problem. Government should take which steps to motivate people to use public transport instead of four wheels is mentioned in below paragraphs. I am nuetral with this statement. In this modern era, people have very busy schedule also they do not have time and because of it they prefer to use car or motorcycle instead of public transport where the public transport is cheaper than the vehicles fuel. Because of their busy schedule they prefer to travel into their own cars and if they are not able with own car so use cab facility. That is the main reason of increasing car owners. This facility some benefits. People can save their time also they can complete their work on time which is not possible with public vehicles. For instance, Times of India published a article last month, In that one person need O+ blood which is not available in his city so his relative travel 200km in 2 hours with his 4 wheels so the doctor can save his life on time. However, If this facility has the advantage so it has also some disadvantage. These days traffic jam problems is very big issue. People are facing too much problems due to it. Also, air pollution is rising and due to it citizens are suffering from asthma and oxygen problems. For example, last year in China, two persons died in the ambulance because the medical van is kept in taffic jam and it was not found the way because the traffic jam was 5km long. The government is also trying to solve this major problem and also taking steps on it like advertising news on it and publish in newspaper and on television. Also, motivating nationality to use public transport mode as much as possible and requesting to use bicycle if possible. If we take an example so, last year in city Delhi India, the government starts odd even system for motor vehicles. Odd number's car can drive on odd days and same as even number cars can drive on even days. In conclusion, to take care about pollution and traffic jam issue is completely on the population of the nation. Nationality should use buses and trains for long travel and bicycle for short distance as much as possible so, it will be beneficial for all.