In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new realway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that spending a large amount of money on constructing new railway lines for fast trains between cities is more important. Meanwhile, others think that it is existing public transport that should be improved. I personally believe that transport within cities deserves more attention from the financial perspective. On the one hand, modernized ultra-fast trains will decrease the amount of time spent travelling between cities. This is why many people, especially those who often go on business trips, prefer financing new railway lines. From my perspective, it is a valid argument but the lion share of individuals do not have to travel to other cities. For instance, a recent article in Travel magazine showed that only about 20% of people have a necessity to change their location from one city to another. On the other hand, an improved public transportation system would decrease the number of traffic jams. This is a quite popular issue in megapolises and one of the root causes of discomfort for many citizens. In my opinion, investing money into existing public transport will not only ameliorate the situation with congestions but also will reduce the amount of gas polluting the air. A prime example would be Japan. Without improved buses and an up-to-date monitoring system, Japan would not have solved problems with air pollution. In conclusion, while some people think that large sums of money should be spent on new railway lines between cities, I believe that spending money on public transport may have more positive effects both in the long and short term. I would recommend copying efficient working transportation systems from other developed countries.