Government investment in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

There is a common conviction that efforts government makes to support arts are worthless, and instead it is more beneficial to allocate a budget on public services. While I partially agree with this belief, I also think that the arts sector has a high potential to benefit the country. On the one hand, the reason why governments may favour supporting public services on top of arts is that this field is guaranteed to bring evident improvements to the population. Since the public is highly concerned about public services such as hospital, schools, transportation, pouring money on these fields is a straightforward method for government to feed the needs of citizens. Moreover, it does not take long until changes will be noticeable to the public, unlike arts, where benefits may come gradually. On the other hand, investments made to back up arts, such as music or filming industries, promise a potentially high return on investment rates. Usually, there is a lot of fortune that goes around celebrities such as singers or filmmakers. Government can take advantage of them in terms of their contributions to its budget. Another point to consider is that entertainment such as theatres or music is an integral part of society. Eliminating them from the lives of people may cause a decline in a social and cultural level of a population. Hence, the government cannot neglect to fund the arts section. To conclude, at a glance, it may seem that investing in public services has always been a priority since it brings obvious advantages to society. However, governments also have to be considerate about funding art due to its role in the community and its high profit if continuously supported.