The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in over-weight people in the society? How can this problem be solved?

There is an increase in the number of individuals who are at risk of major medical issues due to obesity. This is mainly caused by unhealthy eating habits and lack of exercise.To solve the problem the government should engage in massive awareness campaigns. To commence with, the rise of people who are risking their healthy because of being overweight is, firstly because of consumption of junk food. Nowadays, fast food is easily acessible and also very affordable, consequently a number of people are consuming this type of food on a daily basis. Fast food is high in salt, sugar and fat and is also addictive, as a result those who consume it become over-weight. For example, because my sister has a busy schedule she started buying ready -made food on her way home,especially pizza and it has become her daily routine and she is just one of thousands of people who engage in such a life. Secondly, because of the busy schedules and lack of knowledge the victims do not exersice which increase their chances of being obese. Nonetheless, there are vibrant solutions to the concern and one of them is carring out some awareness campaigns. In other words, dissemination of information about the consequences of unhealthy lifestyle can eradicate the problem. It is the duty of the ministry to make sure the community have enough knowledge about the causes of obesity through the media, such as television and radio so that individuals will have informed decisions whenever they want fast food. For example, the Herald reported that the number of people who go to restaurants everyday dropped by 20% in Harare after massive campaigns by health officials. In conclusion, in these contemporary times, a lot of professionals have a busy life, such has led them to engage in an unhealthy life style of eating junk cuisine and on top of that not working out which is causing an alarm on medical concerns. However, it can be solved if the society is knowledgeable about the risk of being overweight.