With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extend do you agree?

I believe that even though the internet has made communicating easy we still remain lonely and it is getting harder to befriend people. Firstly, this essay will look at why we cannot trust and befriend everybody online and secondly, I will explain how the internet has failed to connect people. The crux of any relationship is trust, and unfortunately trusting everybody online is naive to a fault. The anonymity afforded by the internet has made it all too easy for anybody to create a fictious identity, one might argue that there are checks and balances but, these are far from being foolproof. Using image editing software a person with basic computer skills can forge almost any document. It is little wonder; our news feeds are peppered with numerous accounts of online frauds and identity theft. Almost everyone who has an email address will be familiar with the “Nigerian prince email”. I do not advocate that everyone online is committing fraud but we cannot blindly trust everyone on the World Wide Web. On the other hand, it is presumptuous to assume that the internet has reached everyone. Many developing countries still struggle with necessities, let alone have an interrupted supply of electricity. Having internet access is considered a luxury. Secondly, the majority of people from the rural areas are not computer literate and will be unable to use the internet even if they have access. It would be foolhardy to assume that “ everyone ” is connected to the internet as can be seen with the people living in the rural India. In conclusion, owing to the lack of trust we remain sceptical of the people that we have met online these connections are mere acquaintances not “friends”, to compound matters the access to the internet is not universal. I this entirely disagree with the statement.