Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of bio-diversity. What are the primary causes of loss of bio-diversity? What solutions can you suggest?

It is a fact that many species of plants and animals in the ecological system have died out due to human activities, which has resulted in the loss of bio-diversity. There is a myriad of culprits of this worrying trend and it is urgent for governments and individuals to take steps to alleviate the problem. A number of factors have been attributable to this thorny issue. In the first place, profit-oriented human activities have jeopardized the existence of different creatures, both on land or in the sea. For example, the trade of rare animals’ organs or body parts, such as bears’ livers and sharks’ fins has been under severe criticism from the public and animal rights activists; however, this kind of immoral business does continue to grow. Of no less importance is the impact of human production, agrarian practice in particular, on the environment, which in turn destroys living things’ habitats. There have been reports of losses of forestland due to the fast-paced expansion of farmland across the world. This has been prejudicial to the conversation of various species. Therefore, it is of paramount importance that urgent action must be taken. In fact, one immediate practical answer is a concerted effort should be in place between governments and individuals. The government from across the world should introduce new legislation to criminalize the trading of endangered animals and they must crack down on this kind of business. A further possible solution would be to combine a prohibitive fine with long prison terms. In addition, each person should also assume responsibility to assist local authorities in the fight against such a large-scale problem. Without the act from all citizens, this can never be possible. In summary, the loss of biodiversity can be driven by a multitude of reasons such as money or agricultural activities. Having said that, this matter can be reversed by the collaboration of authorities and the general public.