Recent research has shown that business meetings and training are increasingly taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Online business meeting is so popular these days. The main benefits of this is that reduce the personal contact and geographical distance while the problem of this development is that it may reduce the human face to face interactions and develop psychological issues. On the one hand, while conducting digital conferences, especially, during the time of Covid-19 pandemic, this would definitely ensure social distancing. For example, when companies have been communicating with both its employees and customers via online, this can minimise the spread of the disease in a great extent and run the firm without having the fear of Covid-19, otherwise, employees may be infected and companies’ functioning may be tarnished. Similarly, as the virtual meetings offer the presence of every significant person, without they travelling to the conference hall. For instance, if flights are stopped or the person cannot travel due to some other reasons. This scenario itself shows the significance virtual conferences in the business sector. In contrast, this modern advancement can bring some drawbacks as well. The obvious one is that lack of personal contact as people hardly meet in person. Since being a social animal, humans may find this situation extremely difficult. The outward expression of this may vary from person to person, for instance, depression, anxiety, and suicidal ideation and so on. During the time of e-conference, members may not able to understand others’ psychological aspect of life and provide timely support. These problem can result many repercussions, including, low productivity and poor revenue. In conclusion, conducting online conference meeting for the business purpose has both positives and negatives. When reduced human interaction and mental health issues are main downsides, ensuring social distancing and minimising the geographical barriers are positives.