What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment

Evaluating eduactional outcome after the course is essential to assess the learners’ knowledge. Presently, the most popular method of evaluation is examination. This method is fast and reliable; however, this technique mostly measures the memory capacity of the test takers and inacurate. First and fore most, examinations are set up based on the sets of rules and regulation. For example, when a public exam is conducted, all students could be evaluated by the same tool, so it can bring uniformity. In other words, the pupils would be given the same questions and asked to answer with in the stipulated period of time, while they are closely monitored by invigilators. Therefore, chances of malpractise malpractices during the exams can be limited. Similarly, critiria for evalution would be prepared by pedagogical experts and these instructions would be followed by evaluators. Nevertheless, there are some drawbacks can be seen associated with examinations. In this assessment, it evaluates the students memory power than their knowledge. For example, a rot learnt student can perform really well in tests as this only evaluates the particular answersheet and never taken into account of his ability in the classrooms. Apart from this, it has been noted tha the exam can cause stress and the pupil may not answer really well, due to the immense pressure. By contrast, ongoing assessment would allow to observe the student in their class, without any pressure, probably, this can bring more accurate and precise evaluation result. In conclusion, people have a different opinion on which is the best method to evaluate the students’ academic ability. The most common method is that conducting exams. Not only this evalation did have positives, but negatives also can be observed.