Some people think that some types of criminals should not go to prison. Instead they should do unpaid work in the community. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, the rate of crime has increased compared to the past. Some advocates argue that certain kind of offenders should be indulged in voluntary social service instead of sending them to jail. In my opinion, I personally support this notion because of the following reasons. Firstly, criminals, who do not commit a serious misdeed, can become more dangerous after they are released from lockup. This is because all types of offenders are kept in the same place and they influence each other to a certain extent, as a result of which they can be detrimental to society once they are out of prison. For instance, a person who is a thief may come under influence of a murderer and may plan to commit an illicit crime in the future. Instead, if such people are used for a good cause then it can be beneficial for the community. Secondly, keeping lawbreakers in prison can be costly. The government has to spend a huge amount of money on expenses like food, cleaning, clothes, and guards for imprisonment. Due to this, the public has to pay more tax to the government. Rather than imprisonment, rule breakers can be punished to perform physical work through which they understand the significance of breaking the law. Moreover, the court can also punish such people by imposing a fine, so that, they work hard to pay the fine for the breach they committed. Thus, it can save a lot of money for taxpayers. In conclusion, it can be said that lawbreakers, who are imprisoned because of rule-breaking, should be given social work so that they do not come under influence of others in jail and it can also be cost-effective for society.