Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

First of all, mobile phones are a means of communication that has become a subject of great controversy in light of the positive and negative connotations associated with them. This essay will discuss the restricted use of mobile phones in schools and argues that, the restricted use of these devices in schools is a positive development that improves learning and social skills. With the advancement of cellular technology, the use of mobile phones is now a basic life necessity. Its use in some educational centres is limited, due to the increased rate of distractions associated with it. On one hand, usage or access to mobile phones in schools can be argued to be advantageous to some extent as it facilitates communication with family and friends and also enables access to informative news and learning platforms. Having access to mobile phones may also ensure safety as students would be informed of emergency news and may also contact their families in unexpected unsafe situations. However, their use in a learning environment is questionable. The sole presence of these devices makes students subconsciously check them for notifications and this action can distract their attention from whatever lecture been taught. Similarly, classes can be interrupted by a ringtone affecting teachers and students alike. Consequently, these devices shorten attention span and affect academic learning. Therefore, their usage in lecture rooms should be restricted. Likewise, the limitation of its usage in other domains of school is equally important. In recent years, students spend a majority of their spare time on social media through phones. In other words, break hours for lunch, extracurricular or physical activities are utilized unproductively on the internet or playing games instead of actively socializing and creating memories. For instance, lunch hours are spent with their eyes glued to these items rather than the people eating with them. This dependence on mobile gadgets for entertainment will eventually result in poor social communication skills and time management. In conclusion, the restriction of mobile phones during school hours will improve learning and result in greater academic achievement and social skills needed in the workforce. Therefore, restrictions on mobile phones in schools is a positive development and should be made compulsory in all educational institutions.