Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that punishment do not always deter criminals from committing more crimes. There are various reasons why offenders repeatedly break the law, but governments could certainly take steps to address this issue. To begin with, ex-convicts often lack of education who may not be able to reflect their own mistakes and making any progress to correct themselves when there is no proper guidance. Furthermore, many of them find it difficult to adapt to life outside after a period of incarceration. For these reasons, they are very likely to repeat the same mistakes after leaving the prison. One solution to this issue could be organising regular counselling session and rehabilitation programs to educate and change their mindset. As a result, they will be able to realize their faults and avoid anti-social behaviour by the time they re-enter the society. Another cause for people to commit in crimes again is the financial reasons. Many of them who just out of the prison may have difficulties to secure a job to pay for their living expenses. Consequently, they will turn into crime again just because they need money to pay for accommodation or meals. One possible way to resolve this problem would be governments to offer vocational related training to teach them new skills as well as to arrange supporting program to monitor the job searching progress and giving advices whenever needed. As a result, offenders could have a better structure of life, stay positive and focused on finding employment. In conclusion, there are many reasons for criminals to commit crimes again after serving their sentences, local governments could provide training in jail, implement support program after they are out of prison in order to tackle these problems.