Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Many people believe finishing university education is the most effective way to get a good employment while others believe having certain experiences and soft skills is more essential. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of views and express my own opinion. To begin with, it is considered by many that people can get certain jobs without a formal higher qualification. However, it is going to be difficult to advance professionally. Some employers usually set a standard and qualification requirement when recruiting staffs. Obtaining an academic qualification can serve as a proof that the candidate has sufficient knowledge in related job sector and are able to rise through the ranks. It leads to higher opportunity to obtain an ideal job. Moreover, having a degree in specific field usually can be trusted with more responsible roles as well as earning a higher salary right from the outset. On the other hand, employers often value experience and certain skills over education especially in vocational fields. Therefore, having one or two years of hands-on industry experience is usually an asset when applying a job. For instance, recruiters are more likely to hire an applicant with relevant work experience and soft skills rather than one with an academic degree. It is noticeable that there so much competition among graduates that having some work experience will definitely give people a head start over others. In addition, university graduated students often find it difficult when landing their first jobs when they do not have prior real-world experience. To conclude, getting a good job require relevant background either in education or relevant experience depending on the type of work and field. In my opinion, people should attain the necessary skills or qualification before applying for a job in order to success.