Some schools agree that fast-food restaurants and supermarkets can promote their products in school and that schools benefit from it. Is it a positive or negative development?

Some educational facilities opiate that walk-in restaurants and grocery stores can advertise their commodities to target the demand of the institution's population as this, in turn, benefits the school also. In my opinion, although it can be viewed as a welcome development by the management, it actually isn't as it impacts negatively on the students especially as well as the teachers. Seen as a prospective way to increase the sales of their products, some food stores and shops work towards going into a partnership agreement with particular school authority. The governing body of the educational centre could agree to this because it is seen as an avenue to generate more funds since there are monetary incentives attached to it. On the other hand, this isn't so good for the pupils, using an elementary school for instance. The children tend to imbibe the habit of extravagance because they can easily get what they want. They choose to spend all they have because they can or may be influenced by the peers to do so. Also, there could be a risk of obesity among that particular population. As this might not be an obvious effect, however, the increased intake of unhealthy snacks and drinks purchased from these outlets can predispose to it. This is specifically not limited to the kids in the school but also the adults are involved. For instance, rather than pack lunch boxes to school, everyone prefers to eat whatever they could buy from the restaurant close to the school. They prefer to eat the meals cooked with saturated fat because it is more convenient and also could eat as many times they could. Therefore, also increasing the chances of food addiction. In conclusion, despite the extra money that could be made from these business collaborations, it is not particularly beneficial as there could be an increased rate of unhealthy weights and wasteful habit picked up by the school children.