Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the people believe that it is the responsibility of government officials to take care of the environment just because of the reason that a person has no power to protect the environment. I fully disagree in this statement. Firstly, politicians have the major role inteir respective countries not only for economic and safety purposes buat also for environmental protection. One of the responsibilities of the government is to protect the environment that could be beneficial in the future. Although not only the politicians have to bear those responsibilities, individuals have to. Secondly, officials can create a policy or rules regarding environmental preservation and can be delegated to the community taht makes each one responsible. For example, trees nowadays are cut illegally for business purposes and to be exported to other countries. Moreover, Illegal logging can execute to the people that caught cutting the trees and can be imprison for how many years. The responsibility of the society is to report to the respective offices about the illegal loggers. In addition, local government can also imposed regulations that each community has to plants several trees in their places, not only for beautification but also for long term benefits. Planting more trees can reduce the pollutions created by people and factories, prevents natural disasters such as floods and soil erosions. In conclusion, i fully disagree that only the government officials have the responsibility for protecting the environment, it is everyone's duty. Politicians can lead to impose some rules but the society has also a major role.