Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

Always have been existed those parents, who put their children under more pressure than it would be necessary, but in these days maybe it is even more common. We might guess what could stand behind this behaviour, however, a psychologist surely could give a better explanation. As I see, it has a negative effect on the development of the children in many ways. Regarding the possible causes of this kind of parental action, I believe that it can also be caused by the fact that they want to live and fulfil their own dreams and desires through the children. It might be thought that the parent had the same upbringing when they were a child and they do not really recognize to do the same with their own kids. All these have detrimental side effects for the offspring. Also, the kids may think their mother or father will not love them in the case of doing something wrong or get a bad mark at school. Because of the parental pressure, a compulsion to conform might be developed and due to this the person always wants to be better and do the best as the one can. It causes problems in self-respect and also leads to unhealthy maximalism that will make life less balanced. All in all, it is worth paying attention to this as a parent or warn our friends who also has a family. With this little awareness, we can save our children from much difficulty. We can also help the youth to achieve their goals and become successful with selfless love, encouragement, and care.