Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

In the modern world, the level of crime has seen a long-term gradual increase. There is an opinion that in order to tackle this complication more police should be allocated, and I completely agree with this. Thus, the following essay will examine this statement and I will provide relevant examples to support my point of view. To begin with, one predominant nuance, which contributes to the beneficial points of this, is the fact that policemen on the streets can possibly act as a deterrent. To put it differently, since a representative of the state organisation will monitor the situation in many districts, an offender can change his mind regarding his potential delinquent behaviour, and he will not commit a crime. To illustrate this, in Russia, the government has a tendency to allocate a huge number of policemen during some special outdoor events, so they can control the situation and proactively react in case of an issue. As a result, such public events usually do not result in criminal activities. In addition, having more police on the streets is the best way to react to lawbreakers' activities and not to let them commit a crime. In other words, a policeman can stop an offender from wrong-doing, whereas such devices like video cameras, for instance, can only record criminal activities, and they are not helpful as a reactive measure. As a case in point, if a delinquent behaviour has a place outside, the only way to solve this situation is to have a special person who has specific skills and tools. Thus, this will reduce the rate of crime in general, as it can block the actions of criminals. In conclusion, we are all too familiar with such a pressing dilemma as the increasing level of crime. Some people argue that the only way to solve this issue is to increase the number of policemen in megalopolises, and I absolutely agree with this. The following suggestion is a good proactive measure, as a policeman can be a deterrent, and it is a reactive tool as well because a potential lawbreaker can be stopped by a professional person.