Research has shown that spending much less time in office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

A study revealed that some workplaces should be closed for a few days a week so that employees can spend much less time in the office and minimize the usage of energy such as power, gas and so on. It, indubitably, leads to affect the performance of the company; however, the merits, which are the development of rural areas and savage of energy resources, supersede the demerits. The above development leads to an adverse effect on the outcome of an organization. This is because companies work would be stopped for few days in a week and collectively it would be like one complete off week in a month. To exemplify, a multi-national company experienced a loss of 10% in 2010. Consequently, the whole productive outcome of any organization will be drastically reduced. Despite company loss, it will help in the development of rural areas. Since energy will save during off days of workplaces, as air-conditioners, lifts, lights along with other electrical equipment will be no longer operating, this will help in saving of more power and that electricity can be transferred to the countryside. Moreover, it will help in less consumption of energy resources. The reason behind this is less amount of a coal, water required to generate electricity and produce gas, thereby, and non-renewable resources will be preserved for future generations. A survey disclosed that in the last two years consumption of coal in a thermal power plant is reduced from 10 million ton to 7 million ton. To recapitulate, although it destructs the outcome of the company, its positive side, owing to the growth of the rural area and saving of natural resources, overshadows the negative side.