Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people claim that History is an essential subject that must be taught at school. Other people, on the contrary, say that there are more important subjects, such as science and Technology that nowadays are more useful to be studied. This essay will underline the necessities of the modern world to consider the importance of scientific subjects but it will emphasise the real meaning of the studying of History, as I believe that knowing our past is a basic knowledge that everyone should have. On the one hand, Science and Technology are two subjects which in recent years are important due to their use in this current world. More developments and research are needed nowadays and in order to do this, teaching students different and new ways of using these two subjects could be a solution for the future. As an instance, the use of the computer at work is in modern times almost a necessity. For this reason, Technology and the basic way of using a computer should be taught at school. On the other hand, History not only helps students to respect the past and to learn from it, but also makes everyone in the position to recognise what humans did until now and comprehend how a human being is what it is now. In addition, reflect on what happened in the past could be a way to face the current period of time. For example, it is believed that humans should avoid war to try not to make the same brutal errors that in the past took place. In conclusion, while technology is important in this world, studying History is essential to have a reference for actions that were taken and should avoid. Furthermore, I believe that knowing the origins of humans are useful to remember all the amazing steps that human being have been done until now.