News media is important in our society. Why is it so important? Do you think its influence is generally positive or negative?

It is an irrefutable fact that news media is a vital element of a functional and growing society. It helps in creating awareness and generating opinions for the upliftment and development on issues of social, cultural, and of national importance. Thus, I believe media has largely beneficial impact on the society in contrast to negligible detrimental effect. In below paragraphs, both views will be analyzed. To commence with, the main reason to view media as significant part of the community is because of the fact that newspapers, Magazines, digital platforms and magazines act as a collaborative voice of the people that ask relevant questions, and moreover seeking response from the incumbent government, which eventually keeps the federal state in check with people’s feedback. For example, many individuals act as citizen journalist to amplify local issues on social media platforms eventually keeping local people’s representative vigilant about the problems and act accordingly to resolve them. Secondly, news organizations supports in spreading vital facts and information that helps citizens to make responsible choices. For instance, latest development in phone industry, any warning to lookout for while buying some electronic gadget for use. Hence, news has helped the world in many more ways than one. On the other hand, there are some negatives of media on the regional community as well. That is propagation of fake information in abundance, such as to incite riots, maligning image of the innocent victim, developing sensational facts that has specific propaganda attached to it. For example, Some news channels newspapers cook up false information to divert attention of the people from the main topic. Such examples does more harm to the society than improving as a whole. In conclusion, news is essential to generate awareness and simultaneously invoke opinions. In result, keeps government in check and on the other hand, there are some negative attributes of media as well, but could be rectified through scrutinizing instruments of the law. However, by and large, influence is positive.