Some people think that governments should invest more in public services instead of wasting money on arts such as music and paintings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that states ought to restrict funding of the arts sector in order to heavily support the government services. Personally, I completely disagree and opine that culture funding should be fully supported by the state since it provides major economic and social benefits for the country and the society on in the whole. One point to consider is that arts funding is a lucrative investment that makes strong economic sense. Not only is the culture sector a productive industry and a major employer, but it is also a crucial source of inspiration and education for increasingly important creative industries, be it tourism, IT, or film industry. Thus, insufficient funding of this significant employment and industrial sector will be harmful to the whole economy. Another point to consider is that the vibrant cultural sector has a positive impact on the emotional and mental health of the society. That is because the lack of the exposure to the arts can lead to problems in children’s development, such as lowered intelligence, lower academic performance, problems with social interaction and concentration. This Which in turn inevitably leads to diverse social problems, such as poor psychological health, lower intellectual ability, poor critical thinking, intolerance, violence. This is why, UNESCO states that access to culture is a basic human right. In conclusion, I am convinced that the government’s funding of the arts should be not less than the funding of the public services. This is because, having fully supported arts sector allows the country to have significant economic growth, as well as gives the ability to prevent the occurrence of various social illnesses that otherwise would occur.