In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

At present, a vast number of highly qualified graduates are without employment in many countries. The main causes of this issue might include a rapidly changing demand in qualification and high requirements for candidates. However, the mentioned problems can be resolved with the help of the governments. First of all, many trends are changing in different areas at high rates. This means that graduates have to constantly observe and be up-to-date with the latest information in their domain. It increases the difficulty and decreases the chances of getting a job. Also, many employers tend to increase requirements for future candidates from year to year. For instance, an annual survey among headhunters in the UK revealed that the number of graduates hired in 1 year decreased by 15%. Nevertheless, there are some solutions to this predicament. Firstly, the governments could have encouraged the companies that offer paid internships by lowering taxes. This would increase the number of young specialists hired in the future after a probation period. Secondly, local candidates should have higher priorities compared to foreign ones because many positions are occupied by foreigners. For example, a recent article in Times showed that more than 40% of positions in the labour market are occupied by immigrants. In conclusion, a quickly-changing demand for experts and high requirements for candidates are major factors why many highly qualified graduates do not have a job. In my opinion, to tackle this problem the governments should increase the number of companies offering internships and focus on candidates within their location.