Some people feel that playing computer games has a negative impact on children's health and social skills. Others say that it can have a positive impact on their lives. Discuss both these views

Whether computer games are good for children or not is debatable. A few people ponder that computer games adversely impact a child's social and mental wellbeing while others claim that these games promote optimistic development in children. This essay will discuss both standpoints in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, opponents of computer games believe that they can affect a child's physical and mental health along with social abilities.To elaborate, most children spend hours playing these games thus impacting their eyesight and such games also promote a sedentary lifestyle. Consequently, some of them end up wearing spectacles at a very young age and might encounter other health problems in long run. For instance, a recent study conducted by the Child Welfare Society found that 40% of children are obese due to lack of physical activity as they spend maximum time playing online games on personal computers or laptops than playing sports with their friends. On the contrary, proponents claim that various educational games help to develop cognitive abilities in young ones. To illustrate, these games are developed keeping the age group of the child in mind such as Alphabets, number or word puzzles are specially made for young children where they can quickly learn and grasp the knowledge in an interactive and fun manner. Furthermore, a few games like escape rooms or mystery rooms brings curiosity to a child's mind and they are only able to solve these levels if they think out of the box. Hence, computer games if chosen wisely can actually help to build exceptional skills in the new generation. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I would like to infer that computer games have both benefits and drawbacks. Nonetheless, parents can keep a regular check on their offsprings to limit the usage of computer or laptops so that these devices have a lesser impact on their health.