Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are taught in universities but students prefer more practical subjects such as accounting and computer programming. Some people believe theoretical subjects should be abandoned in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that university students consider career-related subjects more preferable and some people argue that notional curriculums should be dismissed. However, I disagree with this argument and believe they are essential for higher education. First and foremost, learners often find it a waste of time for these abstract academic courses. They are excessively hard to comprehend and have less impact on taking up empirical skills. Calculus and Macroeconomics, which are mandatory in business faculties, for instance, are less connected to the real world. Despite this, youngsters could accumulate their experiences for excelling at experiential content without understanding difficult theories. Accounting and smartphone app programming, for example, emphasis more on actual know-how which applied to practice. These are all attributed to the career-focus society and therefore few university students are studying for advanced research. Nevertheless, theoretical studies are the foundation of practical ones. Most importantly, without the basic apprehension of mathematics, no other subject could be developed. Science-related majors, especially, involves various applications of math as their base. In addition, the humanities also rely on fundamental knowledge to advance to further realms such as financial product engineering. Furthermore, math and philosophy are imperative to cultivate logical thinking. This foster young students' capacity to tackle future problems and obstacles. Consequently, if interested in an academy career, young scholars will benefit from the training. In conclusion, even though theoretical study involves a host of efforts, logic training curriculums could pave student's way to the well-advanced area of non-theoretical subjects. Thus, undergraduate aim for empirical faculties should spend time on the foundation in order to forge an elite future.