Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that elderly people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

Some people believe that it will be better for seniors to live in their own houses while others assume that old people should spend the last days of their life with their children. In my view point, I support the latter view as it will be more convenient for elderly citizens to live together with their families. It is true that some senior individuals enjoy living alone in their houses because it is quiet and no one can disturb their daily schedules. Moreover, some elderlies often experience insomnia or other chronic diseases and will have different routines with young people especially children. As a result, it may not be appropriate for them to live their lives in big families. Moreover, in some developed countries, there are many available nursing facilities where elderly people can meet, make friends and share hobbies with others while they can receive sufficient healthcare services from medical staffs. As a result, these kinds of infrastructures seem to attract many elderly members. On the other hand, the majority of aging population may feel lonely or become excluded from their community after their retirement or when their partners or friends passed away. Consequently, when living with their children, they can easily find new companions and share daily stories, which will make their lives more joyful. Not all of old people have ideal health conditions and some may be very dependent and often require support from their family members. When living under the same roof, family members can alternatively divide tasks and take care of their old parents better. Additionally, retired citizens may find themselves useful when living together with their kids as they can support busy parents to take care of naughty toddlers or even prepare meals. To sum up, while some elderly commoners love to have their own private life, I believe that living with families may bring joys and security to elderly people.