In some countries, people of all age groups engage in too many sports or over-exercising. Are there more advantages or disadvantages of this trend?

Masses of various ages have been seen overly indulging in a wide number of sports and exercises. Although they may help in improving general health status, excessive participation in these may cause many exercise-related injuries and decreased time available to interact with family, and so I believe that the demerits of this trend significantly overshadow the merits. To begin with, the major advantage of excessive exercising is that it improves fitness status in general. It helps in maintaining body weight, thereby reducing the risk of obesity-related health hazards; for example, not only the body mass indices of professional runners fall in the healthy range, but they are also very agile with excellent energy levels. Therefore, if the benefits of excessive sports and workouts are considered, weight management and improving overall health top the list. However, I believe that the drawbacks to engaging in athletics and exercise outweigh the advantages. Such activities may not only result in numerous exertion-related tissue and muscle injuries, but even give rise to stress fractures. For instance, people aspiring to win bodybuilding contests end up working out excessively and causing multiple strain injuries to one part of their body or the other. Moreover, these individuals are so much captivated by these activities, that they spend all their leisure time working out and playing different sports, leaving little or no time to spare for their families. As a consequence, domestic conflicts start taking place; hence, it is for the physical injuries and familial disputes, that overexercising and excessive engagement in sports has been rendered to be detrimental. In conclusion, these activities help in keeping body weight within optimum limits. What regards them to be disadvantageous then? The aforementioned demerits of extreme workouts are of crucial value and enormously supersede the advantages.