Some people believe the purpose of education should be helping the individual to become useful for society, while others believe it should help individuals to achieve their ambitions. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Having an education is a primary need and a right of every individual, even though they may have different objectives of education. Some think an education degree can help the society in a good way, whilst others believe that it helps people to obtain their dreams. I completely agree with these two statements and will explain in the below paragraphs. On the one hand, the purpose of education is not only about money and position, but also is a part of support to those who need it. An education can be a social changer for those who utilize it as a way of contribution to the community. For example, some university students in Indonesia spend their one semester living in small villages in Indonesia to create a social project for the local villagers and to help the locals using their knowledge to improve local villagers’ live. That’s why an education can be beneficial for society and local community. On the other hand, it is not a mistake if one’s purpose in getting higher education is to achieve their ambitions in position or in finance. Some need higher education to be promoted to a higher position in a company or an organization. For instance, a civil servant in Indonesia cannot be promoted to higher level if they do not continue their study to postgraduate degree. Moreover, it is popular that individuals with a high education earn more money. They are likely easy to place in a good level in a good company with an outstanding education background. To sum up, although we need education to be beneficial to people’s live, have an education to achieve ambition is not a wrong idea.