Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment. What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Safeguarding the environment is an utmost important criterion for the entire world at this point in time. Every rain body, for instance, lakes, ponds, rivers and last but not the least seas are also being polluted, which is a rising concern to the nature protectors. In this essay, I will elucidate the possible reasons for this damage and list the effects of this on both the animal and human kingdom. To the best of my knowledge, water pollution is continuously increasing because of two important reasons. The primary and obvious cause being the surge in plastic use for household purposes. Due to the long-lasting nature of plastic, which almost takes 400 years to decompose in the ground, travels through the canals to the nearest water ponds during the rainfalls and contaminates them to a greater extent. Apart from this, industrial chemical wastage is another reason to dilute the local ponds and lakes. To be more in detail, it requires a great number of chemical compositions to manufacture a product, for example, Indian alone is generating 1.4L tonnes of chemical wastage, which is a 2 to 5 per cent increase year on year, a sharp and concerning surge. Having said that, this has a huge impact on living beings including the human and animal kingdom. Aqua animals are being extinct highly due to the rain bodies contamination. The recent news revealed a live incident, for instance, of a dead whale slashed onto an Australian beach was identified with full of plastic waste in its stomach. Adding to this, humankind survival is at stake because of the detriment of water quality. To be more precise, the chemical wastages released out of the manufacturing outlets are spoiling the freshwater drinking bodies. Increased sales of reverse osmosis systems in this contemporary world is the best example to understand that the entire water around us got polluted and is not in a position to drink without purification. In conclusion, environmental protectors are facing a serious concern due to the water bodies pollution. Since it is observed that the important reasons for this phenomenon are a spike in the use of plastic and industrialization, the impacts of this pollution are humungous, which are not only the aqua animal extinction but also harms the human society in the form of diluting the freshwater bodies.