In the present era, children are found to have fewer responsibilities than it used to be in the past time. Some people consider it as positive development, however, some other people believe it to be a negative trend. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

In this modern era, children are not bound with as much responsibilities as compared to the earlier times. Although it is thought as a positive trend too some people, the negative impacts of taking less charge to the development of a child overshadows the benefits, and this essay will explain my view further. One the one hand, one reason for thinking that children will gain from being less responsible compared to the last few years is that they would have more time to study. In this day and age, competition for academic success is much more pressurized than it was in the past, partly due to the increasing population. For example, to win a place in a university in Vietnam, modern students have to contest with twice as many applicants as that of only 5 years ago. As a result, in order to prepare themselves for the upcoming examination, it is advantageous for students of the current time to have less of other concerns and only focus on their educational practice. On the other hand, there are more disadvantages for the maturity of the child when responsibilities are ripped off their shoulders. The future children may lack self-disciplinary skills as well as the ability to solve real-life problems, which are crucial to maintain a well-oriented life. As a matter of fact, modern university graduates in Vietnam find themselves unable to take on any career because they cannot independently function as a conscious human being, with the absence problem-solving skills and self-control. That is to say, the lessons from the act of bearing responsibility is indispensable to a future of a person, therefore should not be negligible. Conclusively, though different people have different opinions about children being given lesser responsibilities, it is a negative trend according to my personal view, since without early participation of being responsible for one's own matter, children might not be able to maintain a sustainable life in the future.