In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is often said that music has the power to unite and connect society, regardless of their cultural backgrounds or ages. I completely agree with this view, and will give my reasons below. Melody can certainly reach across cultural and national boundaries and bring family together. Perhaps the best example of this would be the Live Aid concerts that took place back in the 1980s, and which were broadcast to a global audience. Two live events were held simultaneously in the UK and the US, and the objective was to raise funds for famine relief in Ethiopia. The concerts were a huge success, both in terms of the number of crowd around the world who watched them and their impact on international public awareness of the famine. They demonstrated, I believe, that soul truly is the planet’s global language. Just as it transcends cultures, tune also has the ability to connect nation from different generations. Regardless of age, we can all enjoy a memorable melody, a strong rhythm or a beautiful singing voice, and the best songs seem to have the same magical effect on all of us. This would explain why televised singing competitions, such as ‘The X Factor’ or ‘The Voice’, are such popular prime-time shows. These programmes attract incredibly broad audiences because singing and popular songs appeal to children, parents and grandparents alike. I would argue that no other form of entertainment can bring families together in this way. In conclusion, I believe that tune is unique in its capacity to create shared experiences between population, irrespective of culture and age.