Today, some food travels travel thousands of miles from farms to consumers, Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only eat local food. To what extent do the advantages outweigh the advantages?

At present, some types of food are delivered from farms to consumers passing thousands of miles. Some think that if people only eat local food it would be better for the economy and the environment. I believe that the pros of this approach significantly outweigh the cons. Usually, the food coming from farms is thought to be more beneficial for health and purer compared to the one sold in local supermarkets. Some people think that a great number of products in shops are genetically modified and may harm health in a long term resulting in a shorter life span. However, most products are thoroughly checked before mass production which, in turn, significantly reduces any harmful effects on people's health. For example, a great number of unlicensed shops are closed in the UK every month. Nevertheless, modern cities and towns have the necessary food for most of the needs. In others words, only rare types of food require import or transportation from far distances. Reducing the expenses on far travels and the usage of vehicles can improve the current situation in many countries. Moreover, this can help in focusing on more pressing matters. Some developed countries applying this approach not only have a significant surge in the economy but also a better environment. A prime example would be Japan. In conclusion, although consuming only local food may have some disadvantages, I think that the advantages are more important as they solve global problems such as economical issues and environmental issues. I would recommend sticking to this politics for all governments.