Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this day and age, more and more contemporary attention has been placed on the opinion that youngsters are advised to adhere to the traditions of their society. However, others argue that the young generation is liberty at behaving as individuals. From my perspective, I subscribe to the latter idea. On the one hand, not all traditions are suitable for young people’s personalities, thoughts and behaviours, leading to the fact that it will prove challenging for the young ones to follow those ones. For example, my countryside has a tradition that people are not allowed to marry others being the same age but nowadays, the young ones have refused to obey this tradition and are willing to marry any people having the same age. In addition, although some traditions are inappropriate for the development of society, they are still common in some places and in this case, if the young generation follows them, it will not beneficial to them. For instance, there is a tradition in Vietnam that fathers shoulder the responsibility for making money while mothers have to stay at home to do housework and rear their offspring. Undoubtedly, currently, no one accepts this tradition, especially for female teenagers. Therefore, it is virtually impossible for the young generation to adhere to this tradition. On the other hand, it is crucially important to obey the traditions of society, particularly for the young generation since this is the best solution to preserve those traditions. To be more specific, they reflect the national identity of a country, so traditional preservation is necessary. Therefore, only when people, especially the young ones value and appreciate those traditions, they will be less likely to fade away in the future and as a result, the national identity of a country will also have a low possibility of disappearing. In conclusion, with all the reasons mentioned above, I strongly believe that it is better for youngsters having the freedom to behave as individuals in lieu of following the traditions of their society.