In some countries, governments provide payments for unemployed people. How does this impact people? Is this a positive or negative development?

In a number of countries, some amount of money is paid for people who do not have work. It might help people to overcome some hurdles, but do not motivate them to find a new job, at the same time. I believe that it is a negative tendency, and this might be detrimental to the country’s economy. One of the consequences of providing payments for those who lost their jobs is that it is an excellent way to support them. For instance, some time is needed to be spent in order to find a new position, and it may continue for months. Thus, it is great to receive money from the government while searching for a job and do not be afraid of losing your possessions. Another impact is that people become lazier and do not want to work at all. In other words, humans get used to the situation and just do not want to force themselves with work. So, their inner values are changing significantly, which leads to the unwillingness to work. I think that financial support will badly affect the economy of a country. To begin with, people supported by the government are not interested in finding a new job and raise their own income. As a result, the labour market is struggling because of the lack of professionals and cannot meet the requirements of the companies. Furthermore, there is a need to fill the local budgets in order to pay money for unemployed people. However, having a low level of working citizens do not allow to do it fully. For example, often the government has to raise taxes to fulfil its duties. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that payments for job-seekers might be helpful for them, it will have a negative impact on the economy in general.