Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent people from having this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, This is becoming a trend to purchase luxurious things. However, People get to be in debt because of buying goods that they do not need and could not buy. There may be various reasons for this attitude like competition, social tradition, greed and marketing tactics are the influencing factors for such a trend and Some logical preventions can be taken to prevent it. Many physiological factors motivate a person to purchase luxurious goods. For some consumers, a luxury good can go a long way in increasing self-esteem or providing a sense of belonging. They believe that they can impress others by showing their wealth. Moreover, fancy advertisements also attract people to purchase secondary items like fashion, jewellery and gadget. Lastly, as applying for and obtaining credit cards is more effortless these days, many people buy expensive items that are greater than their income. As a consequence of this hedonistic lifestyle, many people are ended up with a severe problem of debts. There are several things that people could do to solve the problem. One of them is that there should be a clear regulation about credit cards that must be followed by banks and financial institutions, regarding the procedure of issuing credit cards to their consumers. It must be ensured that the credit limit that is given to credit card holders is aligned with the individual’s income. And then, instead of adding more malls in the city, the government should focus on building more public parks and children playgrounds. Therefore, people would have more options for entertainments besides going to the shopping centres. In conclusion, it is true that a lot of people are having debt problems, as they purchase luxurious stuff and having fancy lifestyles. Some of the factors that trigger the problem are due to the effect of social media, the increasing number of shopping malls and the easier procedure in obtaining credit cards. And to solve the issue, the government should make a better regulation about credit card usage and build more public facilities; therefore people have more alternative places to visit beside malls.