Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Whilst it is debatable that is it advantageous of introduction of large market players which is causing outrest for the local business owners. Notwithstanding some merits in the former view. My opinion is that it is not beneficial for the consumers in longer run. Explicated below are my perspectives on both the views and the basis for my belief. On the one hand, the contention that globalization in retail sector may have perceptible benefits of competitive prices, better quality and services. Nevertheless, it lacks the conviction that with such transformation whole market dynamics will be transferred to few top players and it will eventually create monopoly in any particular sector. To substantiate these, I would illustrate a recently published report by the department of small and medium scale industries which highlight monopoly as the prime reason for the decrease in opening of new businesses in last five years. Therefore I believe that to have a fair business platform there should be a restriction on the level of involvement of such companies. On the other hand, the counterview has apparent benefits of local development and also culture preservence in the urban areas. The case in point is shop owners and other low scale businesses will be worst hit with such inclination and transformation. Therefore, I am of the opinion that such dymanics should be closely monitored by the administrative bodies for the benefit of all. In conclusion, having elucidated both the views, and anecdotal evidence presented in support of my assertions. I would like to recommend that the globalization and foreign direct investment should have a ceiling value and also be restricted in certain industries for the benefit of public and local industries.