Nowadays, many schools find it profitable to sell unhealthy food and sugary drinks to students during lunch breaks. is this a positive or negative development?

Almost all schools have canteens, cafeterias, or vending machines for students. Educational institutes make a good amount of money by selling junk food; children get easily attracted to fast food. In my view, this negatively affects the health of students and their savings. Providing fast food to students can lead to various diseases, This is simply because such foods are not healthy for students but the presence of such food increases the urge in students to eat. For instance, obesity and diabetes result from unhealthy and wrong eating patterns. The main reason is that these foods have more calories and have excess oil in them. Thus, selling unhealthy food and soda drinks can negatively affect student’s health in long term. In addition to well-being issues, such development can financially affect students and their parents. The main reason behind this is that students tend to eat more at schools rather than eating homemade food, as a result, they will spend money in canteens on regular basis. For instance, the variety of food at canteens attracts students towards them. Therefore, selling food can be profitable for the institute but is fruitless for students. To conclude, despite the cafe or canteen are an essential source of income for the schools but the quality or type of food can affects students health and money. With firm changes in menu or by making it more healthy, it can be beneficial towards students health and for the institute.