Students are becoming more and more reliant on the Internet. While the Internet is convenient, it has many negative effects and its use for educational purposes should be restricted. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The accomodation of the Internet has been a driving force to the over-reliant on virtual sources of students. In my view, I totally agree with the fact that we should restrict the use of Internet for education, because this trend has many negative consequences that might undermine the quality of study in schools. Firstly, although the Internet offers a lot of sources to use as references for essays, some pupils take this for granted and plagiarise other people's work. For example, instead of refering and citing a text, these learners fully copy and paste from the research journals, with the believe that there are plenty of presented papers so it is impossible to indentify the original source of a piece of information. This action is regarded as lllegal, yet there are many of the students have performed and get away with it. As a result, univeristies should limit Internet use for research and writing activities to avoid such misbehaviors. Secondly, schoolchidlren can be overly dependent on the web-based math solvers for their homework. In fact, there are many websites that can give answer to a math problem with explained steps. The tools should be of a great use for those who are keen on further understanding of the exercise, but a lot of learners only attempt to get the correct answers and neglect the background calculation. Eventually, they might not retain any knowledge, which diminishes the efficiency of the teaching practice. Therefore, a constraint on online usage is needed for academic institutions to maximize the learning capacity. In conclusion, schools and universities should put control on the use of online materials in learning activities. In order to effectively use these sources of data, students should be more ethical to prevent the violation of school rules and learn with proper attitude.