"Fatherhood ought to be emphasised as much as motherhood. The idea that women are solely responsible for deciding whether or not to have babies leads on to the idea that they are also responsible for bringing the children up." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although both are categorized under the same topic, "parenthood", motherhood is significantly different from fatherhood. This difference causes discussions around the topic. Some argue that fatherhood should be seen as important as motherhood and fathers should take an active role in deciding whether or not to have babies, if not, mothers would the whole responsibility for children's upbringing. Others defend the idea that babies are nesting in women's body for nine months, thus, this decision belongs to them. In this article, both sides of the argument will be discussed and I will be stating my opinion as to why I find the former idea more suitable. Connecting with a creature that is made out of one's own blood without any intervention from the outside world for nine months, pregnancy, is a mind-blowing concept. It has been shown by ancient traditions that are still being practised and proven by scientific investigations that there is indeed a special bond forming. Due to this heavenly connection in between, and the fact that the change happens in mom's body, one might argue that experiencing this should be her choice and her choice only. Parenting, however, requires teamwork. Taking turns to sleep, changing diapers, tolerating the crying and still, paying the bills is not an easy act. In addition, little ones thrive in safe homes with two parents. As shown by studies, it is much more likely for a child with one caregiver to fall into bad habits than it is for the others. This is why a group of people, including me, supports that the decision should be taken together and the partnership should last at least until infants become adults. In summary, bringing a human being into the world is not easy. It especially affects the female of the relationship mainly due to biological reasons and yet, it is healthier to take on this challenge with a reliable partner. Thus, parents-to-be should act together on this issue.