The housing shortage in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement?

These days as the population is increasing at an unprecedented pace, the housing shortage has become one of the main consequences. It is concerned whether it is an obligation of the government to alleviate this issue or whether the nation is responsible for the lack of accommodation. I firmly believe that both parties should integrate and contribute to the solutions. To begin with, there is ample evidence that sustainable housing is strongly due to government regulations. That is to say, political houses should establish certain restrictions on the numbers of people and land that is distributed to each citizen. For instance, a recent survey has revealed that 25 countries had a scarcity of land to construct new houses because of the fact that government didn't allocate the land properly and residents were prone to build large houses in order to outperform one another, which later caused housing shortages in multifold metropolitan cities. Secondly, it is explicit that because of the nation's unprofitable purchase of lands and housing facilities, it has become prevalent to some citizens to inevitably live in flats and accommodations. It can be solved by public organisations that can share and divide some houses, which indicates that the government is not fully liable for such an issue. For example, several cities concluded that this problem is partly due to people's actions, 45 per cent of which could solve this problem by uniting both the government and the nation. To conclude, it can be clearly seen that I strongly advocate that it is not only feasible for the government to come up with a solution, but also citizens of the city are able to resolve the scarcity of housing.