A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seems important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

These days, it seems that personal wealth and position in society are the only bases on which a person’s merit is judged. Sadly, I think it is true, nowadays in our society the appearance is everything and unfortunately the old fashioned values are not longer important. There are several reasons why I agree with this statement. Firstly, the society where we live is deeply interested in the looks; we are “bombarded” with images over and over again which impose us, unconsciously, a model that we have to adhere to. In other words, people love following celebrities on social media and dreaming with their money and their material possessions. They are idols to emulate, and it is very sad that people do not want to accept that their “perfect” life in the reality is not true. To demonstrate how much our life is conditioned from an image, a teacher and her classroom have conducted a survey sending two CVs, exactly the same, but with different pictures of the candidates (one girl which looks very nice and another overweight). The result has been that two out of three times, the nice girl has been called for an interview. Secondly, it is noticeable that teens are the most vulnerable part of our society. For them the appearance is everything and, if for any reason someone cannot afford to buy branded clothes or simply does not care about these trivial rules, then he is negatively judged and kicked out from the group. People are judged for worthless things, such as hairstyle, outfit, make up Join the words makeup show examples, model of phone, car, house... In conclusion, I firmly believe that today our society is too influenced by appearance. It is unlikely that this situation will be changed soon but “hope springs eternal”. Therefore, we must teach our young generations about old values such as honour, kindness and trust, in order for them to thrive and succeed in the future.