Some people believe that men and women are equal and so women should be able to do any job they want. Others feel that men and women are not equal and therefore there are certain jobs which are not suitable for women. What is your opinion?

Gender equality is something that should be achieved in society. While some think any job ought to be open for both males and females, there are others who believe that some professions are supposed to be male-only. In my opinion, women have the right to work in any types of jobs. Firstly, men and women share the same level of intellectual abilities, regardless of the area. In other words, stereotypes about women’s inability in certain types of skills have no scientific basis and are far from reality. For example, women’s mathematical skill shown in academic performance in school is overlapped with that of men. As a result, the separation of male and female members of society in the workforce is irrelevant. Secondly, women have the capacity to thrive even in professions that require a particular level of physical strength. Some might argue that females are at a disadvantage compared to males in terms of body structures as the amount of muscle is relatively small in a woman, making them incapable to work as, for instance, military combat personnel or firefighters. However, so many other elements are involved and more important in such fields, such as observation, teamwork and communication. For this reason, in spite of women’s physical difference from men’s, they can still be a significant benefit to such occupations. In conclusion, my own view is that individuals should be able to pursue any career irrespective of gender. If society succeeded to bridge the gender gap, it would bring tremendous benefits to all citizens.