Some people believe that educational success depends on good teacher; others think that it depends on the attitude of the students. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

According to some people, the academic success of a student is determined by the teaching skills and dedication of their supervisors; others insist that a pupil’s attitude towards learning is the key factor that determines whether he will be successful or not. Both views will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, it is impossible to write off the contribution of a teacher in the learning process. As a matter of fact, teachers impart knowledge, and they clear doubts and guide students every step of the way. As a result, talented and dedicated teachers motivate their students to work hard and help them achieve better grades. Teachers are like second parents and they know the strengths and weaknesses of their students and devise teaching strategies appropriate for each one of them. On the other hand, a student must have a strong desire to learn and improve if they are to get good grades. Definitely, no matter how good the teacher is if the pupil lacks the desire to learn nothing can help them. That also explains why every class has some students who never get even the passing marks. The same class will also have classmates who scored an A-plus grade in each subject. Clearly, all of them are taught by the same supervisors but their scores vary simply because their attitude towards learning is also different. For instance, some pupils have a strong desire to learn. They will work hard regardless of whether the teacher is good or not. Actually, they will work harder if the supervisor is bad. Also, in this day and age when classes are readily available on the internet, no student can blame teachers for their poor grades. In conclusion, the supervisor certainly has a role to play in the educational success of the student; however, the role of the teacher is not more important than the attitude of the pupil towards learning. A student determined to achieve success will achieve it regardless of whether the teacher is good or bad.