More and more families have computers in their homes. What advantages and disadvantages do home computers have for children? Should parents restrict the amount of time their children spend using the computer?

At present, families have computers at their homes. However, youngsters in those families may not only benefit from computers. They affect children in both good and bad aspects. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of computers on children. On the one hand, youth extremely benefits from using computers. Firstly, they are an excellent learning source for youth. There are many websites and videos which provide them not only academic content but also life skills content. To illustrate, Youtube has tons of teaching videos for kids such as Math lessons or hand crafting tutorials. Secondly, entertainment media which are prevalent on the internet are critically important for youngsters. It is because they endorse kids ' happiness and satisfaction as well as their imagination. For instance, when they watch cartoons or animations on the internet, they will be joyful and their thought will be stimulated. Therefore, computers contribute many advantages to children. On the other hand, PCs or laptops have some disadvantages on adolescents. First, they may waste their time due to addiction instead of doing other good activities for kids. For example, if some of them use computers for many hours in a day, they may not be able to play with their friends or spend their times with their families. Second, their health may be weaker if they use them too long. For instance, when adolescents are using computers, they receive various rays from a screen. As a result, they affect youngsters on their eyes' health and their brains as well. Consequently, PCs or laptops may have disadvantages on a kid's health. To conclude, computers located at homes provide both advantages and disadvantages to kids. The benefits are that they give them knowledge and make them happy. The drawbacks are that they waste their times and their health may be not fit. Thus, parents should control their children for their uses of computers.