Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experiences we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Is our personality and development based on genetical influence or is it constructed during life? Well, several researches indicate that characteristics we are born with may influence more, but, honestly, I disagree. In this essay, I will outline the reasons I believe that a life background actually determinates who we are. The main reasons is I think that personality and temperament are two different things, where the lattest latter is inside the definition of the first one, so personality has a broader meaning. With regard to temperament, I believe it is genetically defined. To support this, one notable justification is a situation where someone asks a child if he or she enjoys their company and the kid does not, he/she is going to answer "no" right away without caring about the person's feelings. Hence, as they have not developed a personality yet, where people start responding others with the view to keep good coexistence, children only act based on their temperament. Consequently, it seems to me that DNA is not as influential as lifelong experiences on how individuals mold themselves. More specifically, taking from my experience, as a kid I used to be an introvert and quiet, even at home, but as I grew up, I realized that having an outgoing personality, gave me more opportunities since I allowed people to know me, which was valuable for both my teenage life with friends and adult-professional life with jobs. Furthermore, since personality encompass temperament, described above, and others personal characteristics acquired with time, such as critical sense and beliefs, I am convinced that our development and personality are matured throghout living. In conclusion, I considerer that the situations we may experience in our life have more influence in who we are as a person than characteristics I was born with.