Some Companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn all the time. What are the advantages for a company of having a uniform? Are there any benefits or drawbacks of having a uniform for the staff?

Many people hold the opinion that companies which have uniforms for their staff are often more strict and well organized; however, there could be few potential disadvantages associated with a strict uniform regime. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of the above-stated situation. We must acknowledge that organizations that follow a strict uniform routine often encourage uniformity and equality among the workforce who is working under the same roof thus promoting employee equality and keeping them all united. Furthermore, it helps to reduce the disparity between a junior staff member or a senior executive as everyone wears the same uniform. In addition, keeping standard uniforms across the company promotes further job opportunities for the retail merchandise vendors and thus supporting the overall economy and local business owners. For example, in India, all government office employees wear a Khakhi outfit which promotes uniformity and equality among the personnel. Nevertheless, there are few people who don't quite get along with the idea of uniform in the office space. They support the idea that staff members should be allowed to dress up based on their personal preferences and management should not force any strict guidelines or policies around attire. Also, most of the employees do not prefer to invest a part of their salary on buying uniforms thus feeling financially obligated to upkeep with the dress code and wear it on an everyday basis. This situation may further lead to the feeling of depression and de-motivation and often lead to team members switching to different companies to look for a more relaxed culture. To encapsulate, keeping a dress code in the company is a great initiative; however, it should be a little bit relaxed where employees should have the option to wear few casual outfits for a few days in a week and also an organization should take care of the expenses related to official dress thereby keeping an overall balance of company culture without overpowering the employee's independence.